State Russian Museum

The Russian museum in St Petersburg is the world's largest collection of Russian art.

Russian Gosudarstvenny Russky Muzey, museum opened in St. Petersburg in 1898 as the central museum of Russian art and life. It is housed in the buildings of the former Mikhailovsky Palace, designed by Karl Ivanovich Rossi and built in 1819–25. The buildings were converted to a museum in 1896–97, and the museum was expanded considerably after the Russian Revolution of 1917, when many private collections were confiscated and added.

In March 1998, the State Russian Museum, the world's largest museum of Russian art, celebrated its 100th anniversary. The museum, then called the "Russian Museum of Emperor Alexander III", was established in 1895 and opened its doors to the public on March 7 (19), 1898. The first paintings for its collection were donated by the Hermitage, Academy of Fine Arts and various royal palaces. Since then the collection has been growing very quickly, and today is on display at four different locations in downtown St. Petersburg:
The Mikhailovsky Palace and the Benois Building
Main building of the museum, which showcases Russian art from early icons to the beginning of the 20th century and holds temporary exhibitions

The Mikhailovsky (St Michael's) Castle
Permanent collection of Russian Official Portraits plus temporary exhibitions

The Marble Palace
Modern Russian art early 20th century to the present (including the famous Russian Avant-garde) plus an insightful display of the Rossica - art by foreign artists who worked in Russia. Temporary exhibitions
The Stroganov Palace
Collection of Russian icons, once owned by the Stroganov family and a wax figures display

Mikhailovsky Palace and Benois Building



More pages